International Student Advising

Home » Uncategorized » The Wizard of Oz

The Wizard of Oz

Recent Comments

Categories

The Wizard of Oz

From Iraq to Myanmar, Somalia to Nepal, when I ask my students about their knowledge of the United States before their arrival, there has been one constant: The Wizard of Oz.

I realize this is because I teach in Kansas, but that they even know of Kansas somewhat astounds me. I assume that people even within the United States only know of one thing in Kansas: The Wizard of Oz.

If you’ve never seen this classic film, I suggest watching it in the daylight. Of all the scary scenes in all the scary movies I’ve seen (which is quite a few) the flying monkeys still haunt me most of all.

I’d hate to give you the wiki down-low or spoil the plot (even though it seems as if the entire world has seen the film), but I am always interested in the multicultural and international take on American Culture. So if you have any opinion at all on this classic movie, please feel free to leave a comment or two. Thanks!


Leave a comment